2019 Sawmill Safety Award Winners Announced!

Sawmill Safety Awards 2019

Since 2002, the Southern Forest Products Association has recognized its members who have outstanding safety records as determined by the OSHA 300A form – calculating results based on incidents per employee hours worked. The 2019 Sawmill Safety results included participation by 52 mills, recording nearly 18 million employee hours.

Awards were originally scheduled to be presented in March at the SLMA & SFPA Annual Spring Meeting in New Orleans, LA. Unfortunately, this meeting had to be canceled due to COVID-19 and awards will instead be shipped to the winners. Although the ‘presentation’ is a little bit different this year, the achievement of earning a Sawmill Safety Award remains as impressive as ever. Workplace safety is always a priority, and these companies have gone above and beyond to ensure the safety of their employees and maintain incident-free workplaces in 2019.

It is our honor to announce the 2019 Sawmill Safety Award winners, all of which had zero reported incidences of occupational illnesses or injuries:

Division I – less than 50 mmbf
Ray White Lumber Company – Sparkman, AR (2nd time recipient – previously awarded in 2015)
Weyerhaeuser Company – Zwolle, LA (5th consecutive award)

Division II – 51-150 mmbf
West Fraser – Opelika, AL (First-time recipient)
West Fraser – Whitehouse, FL (First-time recipient)

Division III – greater than 150 mmbf
Weyerhaeuser Company – Philadelphia, MS (2nd time recipient ? previously awarded in 2010)
Weyerhaeuser Company – Dodson, LA (2nd consecutive award)
Weyerhaeuser Company –¬†Millport, AL (6th consecutive award ? first-time recipient in Division III)

Congratulations to all Sawmill Safety Award recipients!