Certified Wood


Most Southern Yellow Pine is certified wood sourced from sustainable, privately owned family forests in rural communities throughout the Southeastern United States.

Using the best scientific forest management practices, Southern Pine producers manage their land for clean water, wildlife habitat, recreation and wood products. They may also offer certified wood products under one or more of the following programs:

American Tree Farm System® (ATFS®)

The ATFS is a network of 74,000 family forest owners sustainably managing 19 million acres of forestland. The ATFS, a program of the American Forest Foundation, is the largest and oldest sustainable woodland system in the United States. It’s also internationally recognized, meeting strict third-party certification standards to support certified wood.

For more than 75 years, the ATFS has enhanced the quality of America’s woodlands by giving forest owners the tools they need to keep their forests healthy and productive. Stemming the loss of America’s woodlands is vital to the United States’ clean water and air, wildlife habitat, recreational activities, and supply of jobs, wood and paper products needed around the globe.

Canadian Standards Association® (CSA®)

CSA Group’s Standards Development organization exists to enhance the lives of Canadians through the advancement of standards in the public and private sectors. The technical and management standards developed with input from their more than 10,000 members improve the safety, health, environment, and economic efficiency in Canada and beyond.

CSA Group’s global commercial subsidiaries provide expert testing, inspection, and certification services so manufacturers can ensure their products comply with applicable safety, environmental, and operating performance standards for markets around the world. CSA has published more than 3,000 codes and standards in 12 areas, including the environment and natural resources, many of which have been referenced in legislation for Canada, the U.S., and beyond.

Forest Stewardship Council® (FSC®)

The FSC sets standards for responsible forest management. A voluntary program, FSC uses the power of the marketplace to protect forests for future generations. More than 550 million acres of forest are certified under FSC’s system, including nearly 155 million acres in the U.S. and Canada. The goal of the FSC is to promote environmentally responsible, socially beneficial, and economically viable forest management by establishing a worldwide standard of recognized and respected Principles of Forest Stewardship. FSC achieves that goal via its 10 principles and 57 criteria that apply to FSC-certified forests around the world.

International Organization for Standardization® (ISO®)

ISO is an independent, non-governmental international organization with a membership of 169 national standards bodies. Its members bring together experts to share knowledge and develop voluntary, consensus-based, market-relevant, international standards that support innovation and provide solutions to global challenges.

The ISO’s environmental management standards provide requirements and guidance related to environmental systems and specific approaches, including audits, communications, labeling and life cycle analysis, as well as environmental challenges such as climate change.

Programme for the Endorsement of Forest Certification® (PEFC®)

As an umbrella organization, the PEFC® endorses national forest certification systems developed through multi-stakeholder processes and tailored to local priorities and conditions.

The PEFC’s international standards are applied directly in the field and include standards for Chain of Custody and Trademarks and Certification Body Requirements for Chain of Custody, used by companies as well as certification and accreditation bodies around the world. National forest certification systems use PEFC benchmark standards, including their Sustainable Forest Management standard, to develop national standards.

Sustainable Forestry Initiative® (SFI®)

The SFI believes sustainable forests are critical to the collective future. As an independent nonprofit, SFI collaborates with its diverse network that includes the forest sector, brand owners, conservation groups, resource professionals, landowners, educators, local communities, Indigenous Peoples, governments, and universities to help address local and global sustainability challenges through standards, conservation, community, and education. SFI certificates include those for forest management, fiber sourcing, chain-of-custody, and certified wood sourcing.

Southern Pine Best Use